Aug 14, 2016
Rainford
Funster No
MH
Renter
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all

We have just joined your forum and are very much enjoying reading all the threads and picking up hints and tips. We unfortunately cannot afford our own motorhome....(yet!).... so we have hired one a couple of times. We are taking ourselves to western France this year in September.

I have read a few forums about needing a converter for the electric hookup, the hire vehicle will just come with the standard uk power cable. Apologies if this has already been answered elsewhere, but I am still not clear on whether I need to buy anything or not. Can anyone help?

Also, is there anything else we need to take/consider, we have got all the legislative kit (headlamp converters, hi-viz etc)?

Many thanks for your help.

Daniel

Kirsten

LIFE MEMBER
May 5, 2015
Stratford on Avon
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544
Exp
Since 2010
Hiya and have a great time! We have been to France in aires mostly but campsites too- and have not needed a converter plug since we bought the thing 6 years ago. All the places we have been have the normal blue 3 pin thing; we had bought a converter that has the 2 pin french plug ]like what you plug into an electrical socket in a house/hotel En France] but it has not been used. We also bought a thing that tells you if the power polarity is reversed [no idea why as when it was we didn't know what to do and just plugged in as normal and everything was fine]

Wine opener is all I would recommend- and of course a cheese knife- enjoy xxx K

lorger

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 11, 2008
Dumfries
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun 650MEG
Exp
Hi and welcome to fun, most French sites seem to be the same as ours now but you will still get some with the 2 pins. I would ask the hire company if they have one if not you can buy one for a few pounds at any caravan accessory shop. You will also find most camps it's will have a few spare.