First Motorhome Purchase - For Rental and Family Use (1 Viewer)

otis_b

Free Member
Jan 24, 2020
Funster No
MH
Dont own one....YET!
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello All,

I'm looking to make my first motor home purchase. The vehicle that I'm searching for ideally needs to tick a few boxes as i'm hoping to hire it out when its not in use by my family.

1. My budget is £15k - £22k (Not set in stone - I'm keen to compromise between a decent enough vehicle to hire out, and not too expensive as im new to this and there's no guarantee we will like the lifestyle, or that the business will take off)
  2. I'm thinking 4 Berth
  3. Ideally not anything huge. Although i'll be the main driver, my wife isn't confident about driving such a big vehicle, but also as i'm planning on hiring it out it needs to be a size potential customers feel comfortable with
  4. I'd like it to have front facing seats in the back so under 12's can travel safely
  5. Any configuration/layout suggestions
If anyone can offer me any guidance and help me to put together a list of 4/5 motor home models that may be suitable that would be very helpful. I have a lot of experience in the car motor trade, so im comfortable with hunting for the correct vehicle once i'd identified a shortlist of suitable vehicles. I appreciate this is very different from a car purchase though so i'm seeking assistance from experienced owners.

Also, if anyone has any experience (good/bad) of the motor home hire business I'd be keen to speak with you.

Thanks in advance

Otis

Southdowners

Free Member
May 7, 2015
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Concorde Charisma
Exp
Since May 2015
I have seen rental motorhomes often on our travels. They tend to be models by Sunlight or similar makes.

I think you will need a new vehicle to attract renters and feel that your budget might be too low. You’ll also need to kit the vehicle out, insure it adequately for renters and take into account high wear and tear.