Ferry crossings in rough weather. Are you insured? (1 Viewer)

May 13, 2016
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
eight years in theory, a newby in practice!!!
I'm only a newbie to motorhoming and not had our 'van on a ferry yet.
Just being looking at videos on Youtube and came across this one of a ferry crossing the Cook Strait between New Zealands north and south islands in a hellish gale.
After watching it I read some of the comments about vehicle insurance as a result of your vehicle being badly damaged or even written off as a result of the weather.:Eeek:

Has anyone had experience of this?

Feb 9, 2008
SW Scotland
Funster No
MH
LP Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2008 after caravanning for 20 years
Yes. I worked for a ferry company for many years. If your vehicle is damaged on the ferry, and it's not your fault, or the fault of another passenger, the ferry company is held responsible and your insurance company should pursue the claim against them. We once had a passenger claim we stole his car, work that one out. And if a passenger damages the ferry, we claim on his insurance, i have personal experience in this, it does happen.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
Not personally, but I've heard of MHs damaged on crossings due to storms and the ferry company claim "Act of God" or something similiar - so not their problem.

If you are planning on using one of the short crossings I wouldn't worry about it but the economy BF service from Portsmouth to Bilbao has an open deck I believe and some MHs have been damaged on it when waves broke into the deck.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Wee Bold Davy
May 13, 2016
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
Sod that I'd have been throwing up everywhere.