Exporting a motorhome to the USA (1 Viewer)

Originalsmoothie

Free Member
Jun 15, 2016
Southam
Funster No
MH
Hymer B754
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have just returned from rural Vermont where I married my American wife. This was my second trip to the USA, but the first leisure trip. I was enchanted by both the American hospitality and the scenery. Vermont alone has over 4,000,000 acres of forest and 30 mountains taller than Snowdon. At this time of the year it's beautiful.

Before we met, my wife Cynthia was going to sell her house, buy a motorhome and tour the USA. We purchased a Hymer in the UK in March this year. We've done about two months touring in it so far, including a failed trip to Denmark to get married.

We will be touring Europe next year, but we're exploring the possibility of exporting the Hymer to the USA. I don't know anything about the rules, regulations or cost yet, so I thought the best place to start would be here.

Over to you then. Can you give me any idea of the cost involved and any modifications needed to the Hymer, and are there any restrictions on our length of stay?

Steve N Tracy

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 1, 2015
Southampton
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
4 Years
I would have thought that with the work involved and the cost to electrics and gas, lights, shipping etc, allied to the fairly low price of RV,s in America it may be better to sell the Hymer and purchase a vehicle there.

Augusta08

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 25, 2015
Morbihan
Funster No
MH
Autocruise Augusta
Exp
Since 2001
MMM had a supplement earlier in the year with a feature on exporting a MH temporarily to the US, could be the April edition. I'll try to find it.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 25, 2013
Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Funster No
MH
Sad former owner
Exp
Since 1991
Investigate the buying route very carefully as it is exceedingly difficult (nigh impossible!) for a non US citizen to buy a vehicle in the States - as I discovered in 2009 - especially on a visitor's B1 visa.

Geo