Engine charging (1 Viewer)

Aros More

Free Member
Nov 5, 2020
Funster No
MH
Elddis
Exp
Hello, please excuse me if I’m posting a subject which has been well covered previously as I’m new to motorhomes but more familiar with boat charging systems .
While away in our new Elddis 185. Wild camping 1st night all seemed well though leisure battery indicator showed low in morning (I don’t rate these block indicators over a voltage reading) We then drove for 3 hours when I assumed the leisure battery would be charged by engine. 2nd night we used power a fair bit and in morning we had a completely dead van, no lights pumps anything. The engine of course did start so first stop was Halfords for a voltmeter. Leisure battery read 5v, damagingly low I feared! Any after driving for 2 hours I stopped and checked voltage again, 4.5v. I started engine and took another reading, as suspected no increase on 4.5 confirming nothing was coming from alternator. We arrived at a site and with mains charging the battery came back to life as expected. To test alternator again I removed mains power and let the battery settle for 30mins and checked 12.8v Ok. I then started engine and took reading, 14.6v indicating the alternator was indeed charging the battery. At last to my question. Is there some form of diode protection for the alternator that prevents it charging if the leisure battery is too low as after 3 or 4 hours I would have expected at least some charge to have been replaced.
Many thanks in advance.

MikeD

Free Member
Dec 21, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
IH PVC
Exp
Since 2012
Hopefully someone who can help will be along shortly (y)

But Hi and welcome to Motorhomefun

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
it would seem logical that there is some low voltage cutoff device.

i know my bench charger will not instigate a charge if the battery to be charged is below a certain voltage.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Feb 22, 2011