Free Member
May 2, 2017
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
AutoTrail V Line 540
Exp
I'm a newbie
O wise crowd.....compared to many of you folks I'm still very much a newbie here...so be gentle!

I have a fairly young Autotrail 540 PVC and the electrical set up sees a 80 A/h leisure battery (+ a vehicle battery of course) being fed through a 100A/h solar panel and mains hook up into a Sargent Control System (the EC155 Power Supply & Charger Unit and monitored by the EC51 Control Panel)

All v nice and somewhat different from the German system that was in our last van. I have some basic queries for any folks acquainted with the Sargent hardware.

i) Should I expect both leisure and vehicle batteries to show a "full" 5 LED's of charge after say 2 hours driving?

ii) Is it reasonable to expect the same status as above following 12 hours on mains hookup?

iii) Are there any simple things I can do to ensure that the natural discharge rate of both batteries is kept to a minimum when the vehicle is standing for a week or two? i.e. are there things I can turn off that might draw current when I don't realise?

iv) Do you "seasoned" campaigners leave your van on hook up if you are away for a couple of weeks? Given the fuse protection etc in the Sargent system should that be safe to do?

Any help you can give would be much appreciated .......needless to say the manuals & instructions supplied to me are a fine combination of brevity and impregnability!

Thanks again folks.

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
I dont have your system but with regards your first two points... it would depend on where your batteries were in terms of state of charge when you started , and its possible that the leisure and vehicle batteries wont mirror each other in terms of voltage..
when your engine is running they may well show a full set of lights on the control panel and likewise when the solar is producing..