Electrical power (1 Viewer)

Oct 7, 2020
Funster No
MH
Hymer Duo S
Exp
I’m a newbie
Hi hope you can help .
I have just bought a Hymer Duo S took it for three weeks around Scotland and was brilliant .When I ordered the van I wanted air con as I expect to be in Spain during the summer .Unfortunately as the van had two panoramic ceiling hatches rather than the standard the dealer could not fit a ceiling air con unit . They Dealer also had no idea as to any other Option. I found a portable option coolmycampervan a bit of a pain as will have to fabricate a panel for the sliding window .If I am plugged in on a site not a problem but if wild camping an issue .I though the answer was a second battery ,solar panel and an inverter .
The portable air con uses 1.88 amps 220-240 volts with a power use of 450 Watts.Start up current under 3.0 ams for <1 second.They recommend a minimum 700w Pure Sine inverter.
My dealer quoted me £ 935 for 155w solar panel and £1870 for a 1800w inverter the smallest one they do !
I have an electric fridge no tv and led lights .My heating and hot water is diesel.I am based in the midlands.
Could I have any thoughts or ideas from you on what to do please.

Jan 19, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
since 2014
That's 37.5 amps at 12v. Forget it without hook up.
You can get ducted AC units that go under the bench seats anyway.

Upvote 0
Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
You can get your solar panel for around £100 or less and a psw inverter of around 1500w for about £150. A bit of diy could save you a fortune. There are also air con units that fit at floor level if there is no suitable roof vent but ehu is pretty much essential for running air con. Ehu is often metered in Spain so I would see if you can manage without aircon first. We go to Spain in the summer but manage with just careful heat management (solar blinds, ventilation and fans) Spend most time outdoors anyway.