Electric Issues fridge stopped working on 12v (1 Viewer)

Jun 15, 2016
West Cumbria
Funster No
MH
AutoSleeper Symbol
Exp
I'm a newbie
Going mad! First it appears we have an issue with the alternator not charging the battery, we had to call breakdown when after a 2 hour journey, stopping for supplies, the van failed to start. Battery as dead as a dodo! Jump started. Bought new battery, but after return journey of over 2 hours and testing with a meter, battery only partly charged. Whilst testing the battery alternator connections with said meter, we loaded the circuits by running the fridge..fridge worked OK on first test. But on trying again, fridge 12th volt light failed to come on! Tested fridge on mains, ball OK. Checked fuses under bonnet and at the relay under drivers seat. Appeared ok, but changed any way..no joy.. our van is a 1999 Symbol based on Peugeot Boxer Van.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
If the alternator has failed it cant trigger the fridge relay which appears to be the case.
It could be alternator brushs and at first can work then not work as the engine is running...
eventually, sooner rather than later, it wont work at all.

Upvote 0

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Do this in a logical order.

Turn everything you can, off.

Voltmeter on battery - Volts = ________

Run engine - Volts = ________

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

smiffy502000

Free Member
Aug 5, 2012
sutton coldfield
Funster No
MH
coach built.
Exp
since 2008
does the fridge work on 12 volt when the engine is running? on my van the only time you use 12 volt is when you are traveling, when on site it is mains power or gas

Upvote 0

JockandRita

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 2, 2007
Lincs/Cambs border
Funster No
MH
N+B Flair 8000i
Exp
Since May 05 (Ex Tuggers).