Electrial points

Discussion in 'Motorhome on a Budget' started by RobGriff, May 28, 2011.

  1. RobGriff

    RobGriff Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    TONYPANDY Rhondda Wales
    Ratings:
    +109
    Hi can some body help ? I have 2 single points in my camper can these be changed to double points. :Cool: :thumb:
     
  2. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,242
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,188
    No problem from an electrical point of view, assuming you don't overload your circuit in which case the trip will go, however a double socket is a lot wider so you may have to chop your furniture about which you may not fancy. If you just need extra sockets to charge phone, laptops and so on you may find something like this useful.

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/1-to-5-socket-plug-in-surge-adaptor-508273

    There are others available, this may be a bit over the top:Smile:
     
  3. DESCO

    DESCO

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +269
    I always find the easiest method of gaining extra temporary points is to take an extension lead with 4 sockets on. Saves cutting the van about. You can still only use the same amount of Amps, either way depending on hook up.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,352
    Location:
    notloB
    Ratings:
    +48,602

    These are great but measure to see if it will fit before you buy one, yes, yes, yes, I know. I didn't, yadda, yadda yadda :p

    Surge protector is a bonus but separate switches is a must and don't overload, a kettle, toaster, hair dryer is a tad OTT lol
     
  5. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,497
  6. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,323
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2,743
    I have just added extra sockets in our Auto cruise Rhythm, originally there was one double over the hob and one single by the TV next to a 12v cigar socket - no sockets at all at the rear of the van and none near the front, so i added 2 singles (240v) one either side at the rear and another single behind the driver seat - then added a 12v cigar socket, a USB twin port socket and a voltage display at the rear too, took a while to take and get behind all the panels to feed cable but all looks good now, cant ever see them getting overloaded as we dont take many power hungry things with us - its for convenience more than anything else - i hate having cables and extensions running all over the place.
     
  7. autorouter

    autorouter Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +203
    Are the sockets normal UK domestic sockets (with two screws and a square backbox) or the other kind common in MHs with a clip-on bezel and a round backbox (CBE/Berker)? The 'double socket converter' only works with normal domestic sockets, unfortunately.

    One solution that works for both types of sockets is a standard 4-way extension. Most have keyhole recesses on the back. Screw two self-tapping screws into the wall/cupboard until they stick out a couple of mm, then slot the 4-way onto it. I think it looks better if you cut down the wire until there's no excess, and refit the plug.

    You can buy coloured or metal-finish 4-ways, it doesn't have to be white.
     
  8. ****

    **** Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0
  9. Wickolad

    Wickolad Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Wickersley
    Ratings:
    +620
    I put extra sockets in my Autotrail, I used the same units as fitted by autotrail, CBE.
    The van had 2x single sockets, these are very easily converted to 2x doubles. You just need to source the extra CBE sockets, a double frame and trim to suit the trim of your van. The CBE range allows you to choose what suits your needs best, have a look at their range, you build up the points in single gang units and choose the base frame and trim to suit, or double or triple. On both my additions, I went with a vertical array, you are not bound by horizontal fits, so do what's works for you. If you need, I'll add pics.
    Lance
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. ukdw

    ukdw Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +25
    image.jpeg If you do double them up I would advise against putting them this way around like they are in my Autocruise Alto. Quite difficult to get a second plug in! Am temped to rotate them around by 90 degrees if it doesn't look too odd.
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,392
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,882
    You could just rotate the top one and use it for chargers
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  12. ****

    **** Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0
    Who thought up that stupid socket idea? If your kitchen area is to the right i think sideways they will be moved to.
     
  13. ukdw

    ukdw Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +25
  14. DBK

    DBK Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,392
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +22,017
    We have a single socket like that which I turned upside-down. Very easy to do and the only way the Dyson charger would fit. You might be able to turn them through 90 degrees instead.
     
  15. Zigisla

    Zigisla Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,716
    Location:
    Fareham, Hants
    Ratings:
    +2,912
    When we had additional sockets added to the rear of the hab area, we told the dealer the likely use for them and they rotated them which ever way we wanted to accomodate the ridged charger plugs and whether the leads came off the top, the bottom or sides of the plug.
     
  16. Wickolad

    Wickolad Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Wickersley
    Ratings:
    +620
    That's exactly what I've done, rotated
    thats just what I've done, rotated the top socket 90'. It doesn't look odd and the array works quite well :)
     
  17. ukdw

    ukdw Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +25
    Rated two sockets 90 degrees. And yes was easy to do, thanks. image.jpeg image.jpeg
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page