Ducato Battery light on , tickover increased (1 Viewer)

Aug 20, 2020
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Home Car P59
Exp
I'm a newbie
Yet another problem

Saturday the alarm registered battery at 20% so I connected a charger on to the under bonnet connections

Set off this morning for a week away , I noticed when I started it the revs were higher than normal , got about a mile and I noticed the battery light was on

Turned round and drove home , checked the battery , voltage looked ok but dropped rather than increased when the engine was started , alternator doesn't appear to be charging

Put a ctec on the battery then noticed the hab charger was clicking so disconnected the earth from the starter battery

I've found someone who'll have a look at it tomorrow but they're 35 miles away so I've charged another battery hoping I can make it before they both die

If it's not fixed by lunchtime that'll be 2 nights out of 4 we've lost

Been away 4 times in it , 2 minor problems 1 ok and now this

Could me putting a charger on it have stuffed the alternator rectifier up

All the fuses on the leisure charger are ok as are the ones on the starter battery + terminal

OP
OP
W
Aug 20, 2020
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Home Car P59
Exp
I'm a newbie
I'm just clutching at straws , I bought another battery to see if it wasnt accepting a charge but still the same

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 19, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
since 2014
I'm just clutching at straws , I bought another battery to see if it wasnt accepting a charge but still the same
On our Lupo car there was a regulator module on the end of the alternator that went faulty, was very easy and cheap to change, so it might be something as simple as that 👍

OP
OP
W
Aug 20, 2020
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Home Car P59
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have read about problems with water dripping on it so it might be something to do with that