Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello all,

We have an N-B Arto on a 2007 Ducato base - it's the 3.0 litre 160bhp and has done 28000 miles.

We've had it for about a year and the biting point of the clutch has always been pretty high.
We had once incident early on when I mucked up reversing uphill - over revving and causing a good few seconds of clutch burn.

Since then I've noticed that there is slight clutch slip when if you try to accelerate hard when in too high a gear. Obviously that's something that I'm trying to make sure I don't do!

The only other issue I noticed was that there was some stuttery roll-back off our ramps when parked in 1st and I took the handbrake off to rotate the driver seat. But I've heard that can be normal?

I don't want to get stuck away from home with a catastrophic clutch failure - but also don't want to do this job before I have to.

Do you think I need to do this imminently or could I safely nurse the clutch along for a while?

Many thanks for any help you can give.

Andy

Nov 7, 2015
Newport, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper Broadway
Exp
since 2015 previously caravaning 25 years
Hello Andy,

I’m afraid it’s time for a complete new clutch, best done sooner than later, it’s not going to get any better.
As it’s still driveable you have a choice of garages to fix it, if you leave it until you need recovery it’s a different situation.

Good luck

Last edited:
Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
Mine failed this year at 28,000. £400 to replace all three bits. It wasn't too bad but I would have gone too far from home.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
28k on one of these clutches seems about average with heavy vans

lawry

Free Member
Jun 25, 2017
MERTHYR TYDFIL
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Cheyenne 840se
Exp
8 years
Hello all,