Dual solar controllers year or nay. (1 Viewer)

friar tuck

Free Member
Nov 15, 2011
redruth cornwall
Funster No
MH
a class rv
Exp
im a newbie
Hi.ive just got a 2010 autotrail which has 2 solar panels.the mh was originally supplied with a single solar panel running through the sergeant control panel and charger as fitted standard.at some stage it has been fitted with a second solar panel and when I first got it it had a cheap and nasty controller on,I've since swapped this for an mppt which I bought through recommendations on here.
My question is would it be better to rewire both through my 20amp mppt or leave as is.the inbuilt auto trail unit is only capable of controlling 100watt so they can't both be put through to that. I'm just thinking if 2 separate controllers are supplying charge to the same batteries will there be any conflict there?thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
Wire them both in parallel through the most controller. It's ideal, but not essential, if both panels are the same size. Either way the most controller will make better use of them than the cheapo. I run a 55W, an 80W, and a 95W, in parallel through an mppt controller very successfully.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
Using two controllers is a good idea, it minimises the effect of shading on one panel. However, if I was doing it I would use matching controllers.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
it minimises the effect of shading on one panel.
Hi John does having them in parallel (as opposed to series ) not minimise the shading effect on one panel anyway..??Ie you still get the benefit of one panel if one is patially shaded..
Andy

Reactions: DBK

Derbyshire wanderer

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 30, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
15 years