Driveway Advice (1 Viewer)

Aug 19, 2019
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet.
Exp
I'm a newbie
Shortly to get a motorhome but I need to build a level parking space on my lawn because my drive is on a slope. Can anyone recommend a contractor that builds small drives / parking spaces for motorhomes in the West Midlands?

Apr 9, 2018
Worcestershire
Funster No
MH
Bailey Adamo 75-4t
Exp
March 2018
Local block paver? Any competent drive company.

Any competent builder.

Or wait till the travellers come round with their 'spare tarmac' :rolleyes:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Apr 9, 2018
Worcestershire
Funster No
MH
Bailey Adamo 75-4t
Exp
March 2018
I can’t recommend a builder. However, I would suggest not making the parking space dead level. A slight slope will encourage rain to run off the roof when it’s parked for longer periods.
Ours tends to have a nose-down attitude when parked on a level surface. Depends on the moho I guess.

OP
OP
B
Aug 19, 2019
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet.
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks for the prompt replies! What is the best strong material / method for the 'parking bay'? I've read so much conflicting information that I really am confused.
I've been told the surface must be permeable otherwise I may have to apply for planning permission. Cellular mats holding gravel built on a sturdy hardcore seem to be good but no contactor around here does them. Pavement slabs are ok but people have complained that they crack. Contractors seem to only offer block paving (complaints have been made that they sink) or patterned concrete (impermeable). The key to this seems to be lay a good sturdy hardcore.
At the moment, I seem to be going around in circles!

Feb 22, 2011
Newcastle under Lyme
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544 A Class
Exp
Since 2015
Block paving is a bliddy nusiance, sinks randomly (probably bad prep) and is a nursery to all kinds of weeds and moss.
I know because I spend most of the year scraping it all out. Never have it again.