Drinking water hose type (1 Viewer)

Andy_P

Free Member
Oct 26, 2020
Funster No
MH
Dehleffs T6500
Exp
Total newbie (but been under canvas for 40years+)
I'm just deciding on alternatives for filling the fresh water tank on our first-timers' new MH.
I've already got a 25 litre water carrier and have bought a whale pump so I can fill the container from a standpipe and transfer from it (albeit slowly) into the main tank if necessary.

Now I need to decide what sort of longer hose to get.

Firstly, I'm assuming that campsites will be OK with me filling the MH direct from the tap if I can park up beside it for a while.
Is that right, or is it 'bad form'??

Next, I cant decide between a length of normal, round, food-grade hose or a lay-flat type.
I've been looking at these two (the round one seems cheaper than buying the bits separately from eBay and putting it together myself...)

Round:
https://bigwhitebox.co.uk/product/food-grade-hose-non-toxic-hosepipe/

or flat:
https://bigwhitebox.co.uk/product/10m-32ft-flat-food-grade-fill-up-hose-pipe/

I was thinking 10m would be plenty, could I get away with 7.5m?
Are the flat ones likely to kink badly? Are they less likely to retain water when coiled up than the round type?

But now a friend has shown me his flat hose, which is stiff 3-channel stuff like this:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Brunner-METRE-ROLL-GRADE-CARRIER/dp/B0013T5X0E

Quite a bit more expensive... so now I'm even more conflicted!
Any thoughts?

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
The length depends on how close to the Bourn you can get and which side the filler is, I have a 3m & a 10m that can be coupled together & a 20m roll flat (off the cassette to save space) for emergencies. Various hose connectors to suit all taps.

This is my collection.
Hoses collection.jpg

Upvote 0

Kannon Fodda

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 26, 2019
Seek and Ye May Find
Funster No
MH
Autotrail V-line 540
Exp