Free Member
Nov 9, 2013
Mansfield
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Apache 700
Exp
i am a newbie
I want to travel to Southern Spain this October, which is the best route, Dover Calais , and then drive through France, or go direct to Spain , which is costlier, but less driving ?

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
We're going Plymouth Santander in October to Spain partly because we live just outside Plymouth but cost wise for us when I looked at it there wasn't a huge amount of difference but if you stayed in aires and avoided toll roads, driving through France will be cheaper. We just take the ferry to Santander as a mini-cruise and pig out in the posh restaurant!

You just have to do the sums if you want to be sure, the size of your MH impacts on the cost of the ferry and probably the mpg on land. The weather is also a factor - bumpy ferry or rain-lashed roads? Take your pick. We lash ourselves to the bar and ride out the storms!

As a generalisation I think taking the shortest ferry crossing and driving is going to be cheaper and if you have the time go for it.

Welsh girl

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 7, 2009
Funster No
MH
Globecar
Exp
Since 2004
We drove through France last year but have decided to give the Santander ferry a go this sept. Quite expensive and we'll tell you whether we'll do it again after this one. We've been told the bay of biscay can be quite rough. Just as well we are good sailers!!!
All good to put on our bucket list. I did like pootling through France though.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

chromedog

Free Member
Jan 28, 2014
cheshire
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
since 2004
Many campsites and aries will be closed that time of year and the weather could well be cold down the centre of the country so stick to the west coast,,

The sailing to Bilbao/ Santander is ok but expensive, and the bay of Biscay can be more than rough !!! but it can be calm so you take your choice.