double Din Ducato Radio refit

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by campa cola, Aug 6, 2015.

  1. campa cola

    campa cola Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,422
    Location:
    Weegeland
    Ratings:
    +9,029
    Anybody got a reccomendation for a double DIN radio /DVD/GPS for a Ducato. Been looking at the chinese ones on ebay or may spend the extra on a known brand. I definately need at least one reversing camera input and preferably two Camera inputs.

    Any advice welcomed
     
  2. WAG2CRU

    WAG2CRU

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +500
    We have a pioneer avic which was standard fit in our Hymer, if I| were to change it, I would up date to the latest avic 960 bt-c which is designed for motorhomes. An excellent all round package.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,698
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,443
    you get so much more for your money with the chinese ones and they get free map updates for life. plus you can add all the poi files without any fuss
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7,170
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +18,601
    Pioneer for me every time
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. campa cola

    campa cola Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,422
    Location:
    Weegeland
    Ratings:
    +9,029
    Can you recommend a particular make/model Thanks.
     
  6. campa cola

    campa cola Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,422
    Location:
    Weegeland
    Ratings:
    +9,029
    Thanks for the info, I am just going to check out how compatible this is with my note 4, looks more apple biased ?
     
  7. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,698
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,443
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. Howard4734

    Howard4734 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +17
    I'm going through the same scenario at the moment. I can't find any of the Chinese units that had DAB radio so I will properly go with the Pioneer avic 960 bt-c with the Alpine TV module.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  9. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,698
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,443
    but you can link your smartphone via bluetooth and use an app for DAB
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. Howard4734

    Howard4734 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thats a good idea but you would need a good 3G signal and a good data allowance. :)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    Stretford
    Ratings:
    +2,502
    I have a Blaupunkt New York which meets your requirements and allows you to input Motorhome size with additional output for TV, been impressed with mine so far
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  12. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    28,355
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Ratings:
    +93,431
    I have a brand new all singing, all dancing Double Din Pioneer radio. I bought it to replace the radio in our RV. I paid £330 for it in Halfords two months ago This is it

    Trouble is, when I took the radio out of the RV I found it was a 1.8Din so the Pioneer would not fit. :mad::mad::mad: Been meaning to put it on eBay. Its new, in its box. Anyone can make me a sensible offer for it ;)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2,761
    • Like it Like it x 1
  14. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,698
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,443
    • Like it Like it x 1
  15. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2,761
    Yes very very similar, only difference is the price and it doesn't state if it will fit into a Fiat Ducato dash (well it will but do you get the curved fascia plate with it ? ) without the fascia it will look somehow not fitted correctly
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  16. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,698
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,443
    • Like it Like it x 2
  17. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2,761
    Not the correct one for my van, pics below will explain more. Picture 1.JPG Finished 1 05-08-2014 15-42-01.JPG This is what i was having trouble finding, at the time icartech in Germany were the only company i could find who supplied this type of fascia. (Curved high gloss front panel - the same as the original)
    P1050064.JPG
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  18. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,698
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,443
    • Like it Like it x 3
  19. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2,761
    wish i could have found them available when i purchased mine, think they charged me about 80euros just for that fascia
     
  20. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,698
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,443
    thats the way it goes though.....plenty of bargains about shortly after you just had to pay top retail

    looking at the german unit, I reckon that they buy wholesale from Hong Kong and at least double their money in profit
     
Loading...

Share This Page