dongle for wi fi

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by pigginchilli, Oct 15, 2015.

  1. pigginchilli

    pigginchilli Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Town Yetholm
    Ratings:
    +473
    We love our internet so how much will it cost? sorry for bluntness lost our van last week to storage, today been told to look for another job!! Till I bought our van everything was fine, What is it with motorhomes??? don't think I have been this angry ever!
     
  2. bartiny

    bartiny

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Accrington, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +419
    Sorry to read that, I hope things work out for you.

    Looks (to me anyway) that this could be a case of constructive dismissal, your boss/employer seems like a real piece of work.

    Good luck (y)
     
  3. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,687
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,392
    basic costs are about £40 for a mifi 3g router and £15 a month on 3
     
  4. bartiny

    bartiny

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Accrington, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +419
  5. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    9,449
    Location:
    On the coast in West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +13,552
    You can just use your phone as a wifi hot spot & use your data allowance, if your contract does not allow tethering there a few ways to get round it.
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  6. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,791
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +4,160
    For my business use I use an EE 4g card, plugged into a complicated router, however I think the original package was EE osprey. you can top as you please depending on data usage. Last top up I did was £30 for 10g, but I had to do some heavy data shifting. £10 top up would be sufficient for normal usage.
     
  7. campa cola

    campa cola

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,420
    Location:
    Weegeland
    Ratings:
    +9,001
    Could you pm me how to do that please???
     
  8. campa cola

    campa cola

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,420
    Location:
    Weegeland
    Ratings:
    +9,001
  9. C200JK

    C200JK

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    Ireland / London
    Ratings:
    +3,181
    Sorry for your predicament.
    I think you were the guy who was the farm manager ?
    Good luck hunting for another position mate, in any case if a new job brings you better conditions it may be a blessing in disguise .
    Tons of options for wifi internet, dongles relatively inexpensive.
    All the best in the future.
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,249
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,535
    Not 100% sure but i dont think that model has a port for an external aerial.

    I have the E5332 version which has a small threaded port next to the usb charge socket.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31,249
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +23,535
  12. campa cola

    campa cola

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,420
    Location:
    Weegeland
    Ratings:
    +9,001
    Yes thanks you are right! Bit confusing, I don't fancy putting anything in a sandwich box to get a signal so need a 3/4G unit with a booster option.

    Think this is what I need http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Unlocked-...id=100005&rk=1&rkt=6&mehot=ag&sd=290964305016
     
Loading...

Share This Page