Dometic freezer door won’t open (1 Viewer)

May 21, 2021
Cambridgeshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper
Exp
Since 1986
We have a Dometic fridge freezer and the freezer door won’t open, I suspect the two finger operating button is no longer connecting with the release arm, any idea how to get it open, Please, no crowbar suggestions

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005
If the freezer is running it may be that the door seal has frozen ... some caravan type fridge / freezers have a heating device fitted to prevent this... may be worth checking yours.

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
I would gently lever the plastic piece out of the way to expose the metal part, then open it.

Steve and Denise

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2011
Spalding LINCS
Funster No
MH
A Class Carthago
Exp
Since 2008
Ours did this I removed the front decor panel then released the catch with a thin screwdriver the lock had frozen inside Paul and Chrissy 3D printed a new improved lever for me.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
I would suggest the heating element in the door frame has failed and the door is frozen closed.
Try a hair drier around the seal before butchering it.
Our home freezer door frame gets just about too hot to touch at times

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Reactions: f6c
OP
OP
Twoleftfeet
May 21, 2021
Cambridgeshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper
Exp
Since 1986
Door seals not frozen the button is failing to connect to the metal lever inside, I’ve managed to get a thin piece of metal between the seal an frame in an effort to raise the lever but no success, it’s only 3 years old and I’m wondering if it’s possible to remove the door from the hinged end, I have limited tools with me as I’m in Spain

Steve and Denise

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2011
Spalding LINCS
Funster No
MH
A Class Carthago
Exp