Does 3 work in Cornwall & related questions. (1 Viewer)

capers

Free Member
Jun 2, 2011
Goring by Sea Sussex
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2010
Hi all,
I'm a newbie to M.H.ing and this site.

It is really great, lots of tips already.

Going to Cornwall and Devon on 6/6/11 and need access to web for banking. Prefer to access through my laptop in MH than wifi supplied by sites. Anyone know if 3 works in places such as Bodmin, Fowey Salcombe etc. Checked 3 for campsite post code coverage and it can be ok for mobile but not broadband.

I have a samsung galaxy S on 3, but don't fancy using it for banking, due to lack of security.
So thinking of a 3 dongle but will it work and how slow are they?
Also I have the Dell Studio laptop that can take a sim card, I think it was JJ who stated he used the sim out of his 3 dongle in his laptop.
I guess you can see I am not up to speed on these matters, can anyone advise please?

Thanks for reading this, any advice would be very welcome.

Carol

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
3 is available in Devon. However, Devon and Cornwall are very hilly places so you may have problems at sea level. Our site in North Devon has no problem, you just have to pick sites on higher ground.

rainbow chasers

Free Member
Oct 30, 2009
Mid Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Various
Exp
Only problem you may encounter on the north cost, is 3's habit of finding the signal from Ireland! You will usually notice a drop in strength when it does this - only seems to effect the coastal villages on the north coast - probably because a hill behind means it is the first signal it locks onto.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
C

capers

Free Member
Jun 2, 2011
Goring by Sea Sussex
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2010
We use a 3 MiFi Dongle in St Austell area without any problems.

Thank you for your helpful reply, can I ask which of all the 3 devices you have?