Digital TV aerial / microwave (1 Viewer)

Old Betsy

Free Member
Jul 19, 2011
Lancashire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a Newbie
Just bought our first motorhome, a Talbot Elddis 320 Autoquest and are getting ready for our first adventure in a couple of weeks time. There are still a few things we need to get sorted before we go, and could do with a bit of advice.
The first, is what is the best digital TV aerial to use? we have a great TV with built in free view and heard about the telco teleplus omni directional aeriel. Is this the best choice?
We need a micowave and don't understand the difference between a normal microwave and ones advertised as caravan/motorhome low wattage micowaves. They both seem the same to us and and put out the same power? Is there any difference?
Old Betsy X

Sorry the telco teleplus is a directional aerial not a omni directional one.

Last edited:
Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
1. No omni directional aerial is much good for digital or analogue TV. You need a directional aerial like the status.

2. The biggest difference between the ordinary and ones sold specially for motorhomes is the price. There are 12v ones with a built in inverter but these are very expensive.

I would put in the link to Johns Cross for a suitable aerial but can't get into his site. Get it fixed Peter:roflmto:

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Ref the microwaves.. As mentioned you can get 12v and 24v versions but they cost the earth..
Basic houshold microwave run at 700w and above but at start up they can draw almost double that power.. No issues if your on a good electric hookup on a UK sites which almost always have 16amp available.. Any old cheap micro will do if thats how your going to use it.