Digital radios! Are the overrated? (1 Viewer)

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
They are similar digital technology but the quality of the streams is very very different. A DAB stream is typically 128kbps. MP3 is up to about 320kbps. An internet stream is capable of 1024kbps in FLAC or ALAC format which brings it up much closer to the CD standard of 1411kbps.
Testing the BBC did for DAB found 192kbps was a quality minimum.
If DAB is struggling it’ll be with stations going lower.
DAB+ has decent error correction built in but when reception is weak you’ll get a bigger gap than older DAB transmissions.

I have DAB for sport & occasional music. Mostly I’m supplying my own music from iPhone 👍🏻🤪

May 7, 2016
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 2003
Testing the BBC did for DAB found 192kbps was a quality minimum.
If DAB is struggling it’ll be with stations going lower.
DAB+ has decent error correction built in but when reception is weak you’ll get a bigger gap than older DAB transmissions.

I have DAB for sport & occasional music. Mostly I’m supplying my own music from iPhone 👍🏻🤪
We have good DAB coverage in Poole. I checked the download rates on my DAB radio and with exception of BBC Radio 3 the best I got was 128kbps.

I think it is possible the source of the 192kbps claims was confusing DAB with other BBC digital radio platforms such as Freeview and Satellite. The best table I can find was compiled in 2020, it shows all but one BBC DAB radio stations at or below 128kbps. The only exception is Radio 3 which is 160 to 192kbps, presumably it gets special treatment because it has the fewest listeners (cynical observation). The table shows several Freeview and Satellite programmes at 192kbps and BBC iPlayer programmes at 320kbps.
E07477CE-22C3-4FE1-9B17-FD804678DE19.jpeg

ceejayt

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 12, 2015
Stamford Bridge - Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
RS Elysian A Class
Exp
Since 2004