Desktop finally working.

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Road Runner, May 22, 2009.

  1. Road Runner

    Road Runner

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,195
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +1,459
    Now my only aerial point is downstairs so i have my modem there and the desktop is upstairs and I am using a medium priced wifi dongle and the reception is fair. Doe's this slow the computer up?

    Cant see how and m,ore likely to drop connection, am I right?
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    32,826
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +27,538
    dont you mean phone point john:Doh:

    mine is definately slower on wifi than direct into the BT wall socket but i no longer have a problem with dropped connections. (i updated the wifi card driver)
     
  3. Road Runner

    Road Runner

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,195
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +1,459
    Yes phone point:Doh::Blush::Blush::Blush::Blush:
     
  4. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi John can't you use a telephone extension cable, put your router upstairs and connect direct? or is it required downstairs too?

    You could try homeplug , get your internet through any 240v socket in the house::bigsmile:

    regards
     
  5. American Dream

    American Dream

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +156
    Hi John,

    Yes.As the signal strength drops the transmission/receive rate falls.

    Data over power might be the best way to go as Sinbad says.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2009

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice