LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
My neighbour is looking at purchasing a van. There is one on ebay but the seller says its got a delaminated window.

Is this caused by dampness or what?

Would it put you off if everything else seemed ok for price?

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
My neighbour is looking at purchasing a van. There is one on ebay but the seller says its got a delaminated window.

Sitting waiting for a ferry with nothing better to do....
So that discription is a bit vague to me...
Delamination suggests a windscreen or some such type glass not a plastic motor home window..
Perhaps you could clarify that... o_O:D

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Not a problem

Usually caused by the sun and it not being manufactured that well.

Defoe not a damp issue.

The screen is effectively two pieces of glass with a plastic sheet in the middle.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Yes it's a side window @andy63
Hab or cab.
I presume it's a hab window which is usually two moulded pieces of plastic stuck together for insulation from cold.
Only real problem is condensation gets between the two sheets and causes fogging.
Strange thing is many 'double glazed' plastic Windows have a small hole in a bottom corner presumably to stop the window bulging if it gets hot.....If air can get in as it cools so can moisture.
If the rest of the van is ok I wouldn't worry, a couple of hundred quid will sort it...a new window.

SandraL

Free Member
Jan 24, 2012
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Hymer b694sl
Exp
Since 2012 + Caravanner for 20+ years