Free Member
Dec 29, 2020
Smack on the Derbyshire/Nottinghamshire border
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducatto Compass
Exp
Don’t call me Lord call me Paul and I’m a very skint newbie
I’ve got a very old motorhome and I’ve done a full reverb I’ve had 2 of the tablet style dehumidifiers. I’ve bought an electric one to save the cost of tablet replacement. I have now been told by a caravan owning friend that dehumidifiers pull damp into the motorhome therefore defeating the object. Thought you friends on here would know for certain

Feb 22, 2011
Newcastle under Lyme
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544 A Class
Exp
Since 2015
They won`t pull damp in, it has to be there to start with but ventilation is essential and if sufficient you shouldn`t need a dehumidifier

By the way w2f

Have you cured any source of leaks in the structure ?

Upvote 0

Tombola

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 21, 2020
Merseyside
Funster No
MH
Rapido 8094DF
Exp
Since 2004
Only because as the dry out the air, more air comes in from outside through vents/cab screen heater vents etc.
Its a debate what they do but having some air movement by cracking the odd window/skylight certainly works.

Also do you have any damp issues with the "old van" if maybe, then wise to get a damp metre and check so you can get them fixed.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Sep 29, 2019
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis
Exp
20 years
I don’t use them and never had damp. They won’t however make anything worse.

Upvote 0

dabhand

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 19, 2014
Staffs
Funster No
MH
Concorde carver E35
Exp
Since 1993