Decathlon e-bike? (1 Viewer)

Baileysbus

Free Member
Aug 2, 2016
Fife
Funster No
Exp
Start of 2016
We're in Saumur at the mo one week in to our four week break in France.
We were in the local Decathlon store this morning and I was getting tempted by one of these https://www.decathlon.fr/vae-ville-elops-900-e-lf-id_8379380.html
Right at the mo it would help me get about a bit better than I've been able to sustain walking and I just wondered if anyone has any thoughts on or has this particular bike? I've no as in zero experience of e bikes but the write up I've read about this one seemed quite positive.
Any advice gratefully received. Cheers guys.

Sep 26, 2013
Market Rasen
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2003
We had the cheaper one from Decathlon which is around €800. Lasted 4 years before the hub motor seized up €1200 seems a bit pricey if it has a hub motor as the crank ones are better but perhaps another €400 on top.

The Nomad

Free Member
Aug 24, 2016
Wandering in Europe
Funster No
MH
Overcab
Exp
Many years
"Decathlon" bikes are not built by them, but only by generic subcontractors, (in China I assume)...... and are very much built down to a price, not up to a standard.

You gets what you pays for.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

jumar

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 6, 2012
Spain
Funster No
MH
Hymer Tramp
Exp
Since 1994
Just two things to consider as a motorhomer wanting to carry an eBike.

The weight of the bike. How you would carry it on/in the motorhome, can YOU lift it.

How would you propose charging the battery, while travelling, inverter, site electric.

OP
OP
Baileysbus

Baileysbus

Free Member
Aug 2, 2016
Fife
Funster No
Exp
Start of 2016