Day/camper work away van battery recommendation (1 Viewer)

Ursheeee

Free Member
Apr 6, 2021
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
I need to install a leisure battery (or 2 in parallel) in my van for when I start a new job. I'll be working 3 days/nights on at a time and electric hookup will not be available where I park for the 3 nights.
I'm looking at installing split charge relay to charge the leisure battery(s). I will require enough life to run some 12v led lighting, a TV, phone charger, cool box and microwave and maybe laptop. So a double USB socket from an inverter I was thinking.
Shower facilities are provided at work so no need for anything other than the above and most of the electric is going to be used in the evenings when I'm not working but staying on site.
What battery, if any would you say would suit this application?

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
You'll need a massive battery and massive inverter to run a microwave. Especially for three days. And a way to get all that power back into the battery. Loads and loads of solar, or lots of driving to charge via a split charge relay.

Honestly, it's doable but it will be very expensive.

I wanted to run a modest sized electric water heater. Soon discovered it was a nonstarter without access to hookup or a huge battery bank, probably expensive lithium too. I suspect a microwave might be the same.

If your van is more modern you'll need a battery to battery charger, and you may find a split charge relay doesn't work very well. It's all about your vans alternator and if it's "smart".