Dashcam & satnav compatability

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Scattycat, Nov 23, 2015.

  1. Scattycat

    Scattycat Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    855
    Location:
    Mayenne, France
    Ratings:
    +1,328
    Is it just us or do other folks have similar problems?
    We have just bought another sat nav, we didn't really need another one but found this Chinese truck one on ebay for the silly price of around £38 and thought I'd give it a try.
    I was having problems with it finding satelites and was on the verge of sending it back when I had a light bulb moment and disconected the dashcam and hey presto the satnav found a signal straight away.
    I then plugged in another dashcam that we use on a different vehicle and the satnav and dashcam works fine together.
    So, Has anyone else had similar problems or is it just our home grown gremlins playing up again?
     
  2. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,131
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ratings:
    +28,422
    Cant say I have noticed anything.. But only ever used the one dash cam. It is mounted directly above the two GPS units that are on the windscreen
     
  3. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,552
    Never had a problem in either car or van.
     
  4. Gary217

    Gary217 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    New Forest, UK
    Ratings:
    +245
    Sorry, I can't contribute to your question but I would be very interested to know how much you like the chinese satnav as I am tempted by one of those for its ability to input height restrictions.
     
  5. Tea Bag

    Tea Bag

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,529
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +4,393
    Hi Gary217.
    Punch in Chinese Sat Nav... Or Noza Tech ? in Forums. Loads of advice,all you will ever need. We bought one a few years back when they were £70 plus pounds,LOVE it. Go and have a look see,best of luck.
    Tea Bag
     
  6. Scattycat

    Scattycat Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    855
    Location:
    Mayenne, France
    Ratings:
    +1,328
    I can't really say as yet because I only discovered the solution to the problem today. We're not out and a bout much for a few days but once on the road again I can give you better feed back.
    I've played about with the menu a bit and it seems fairly good.
    One thing I can say is that we live out in the sticks a bit and our more expensive sat nav does not show our property but theis cheap Chinky one does, so that's a plus. I think they work off tom tom mapping so it should be pretty good also it states in the blurb that you get lifetime free 6 monthly updates. It will be interesting to see if that holds up.

    One of the reasons I thought of buying this bit of kit is that the cost to update the maps on my other one was about £100 or more, so I thought it worth a go to try this one out at less than half the cost.
     
  7. K9Brian

    K9Brian

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Location:
    South Manchester
    Ratings:
    +708
    Had the same problem when both devices were positioned fairly close together. I have now moved the dash cam from behind the rear view mirror to the passenger corner of the windscreen and both devices work perfectly. Try separating them as much as possible.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
Loading...

Share This Page