Damp (2 Viewers)

Macy0161

Free Member
Sep 6, 2010
Ireland
Funster No
Exp
Hi,

I'm a complete novice, looking to buy our first motorhome at the moment, and I've a newbie question.

We've found one that we love the layout off (the kids particularly smitten), but I spotted a couple of areas of damp (one below external damage, one below a window). In these area's, the walls are soft, with a bit of give if I push in my thumb.

Everything I've read appears to make this one to avoid. Is this definitely the case, or is damage DIY repairable? My initial thoughts would be if it's effecting the ply, the structure is probably goosed as well?

Our price range is bringing us to 12-13 year old bracket, are we expecting too much to get a damp free motorhome at that age or is it a reasonable expectation? We were thinking that it would be more cosmetic issues like updating the upholstery, style of wood/ decore, rather than structual issues that we would have to accept?

Thanks in advance, and apologies if it's been asked before - I couldn't find a search option!

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
There are tens of thousands of completely dry motorhomes out there for sale, I would buy one of those and avoid one that is damp. If you are particularly smitten then get an expert to check it over but you should be aware that the rot can travel to different parts of the van and even small repairs can be extremely costly. Best of luck:thumb:

Upvote 0

madbluemad

Banned
Jan 26, 2008
spain
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
since 1980
Damp is the one problem that is likely to give you real heartache. It will spread and given that its as bad as you say, it is likley to have already spread to other areas of the van where you cant see it.