Cubs

Free Member
Jan 17, 2020
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt Hobby
Exp
Only 3 years but travelled Europe for 1 and visited 17 countries
Hi this is my first post. I would really appreciate any advice you can offer.
We have had a leak in our 2009 Hobby Classic and need to replace some of the ceiling boards. We have decided to give it a go ourselves but we are complete novices. It is going to be a big job. We are taking our time and we know that we are going to come up against issues as we go but we are hoping to get through them with advice and support of friends and knowledgeable people like yourselves.

We found the source of the leak. It was getting through the join between the cab and the body of the motorhome. We have removed the sealant and rail and it is now drying out as we start to remove the furniture inside.

So far so good with a lot of patience we have removed the cupboards above the window.

We now need to remove the vertical post in the photo. However it is bolted through the metal behind the seatbelt. We have removed the trim but cannot access the nuts or even see them. We removed one bolt and the nut has just fallen down into the gap.
Is it possible to remove the metal panel behind the seatbelt?
If so how to we go about it?

Thanks for your help
IMG_20210421_163543672.jpg

Dec 13, 2019
Northumberland
Funster No
MH
Hymer A Class
Exp
Since 2019
Check the cab on a van version of your vehicle. The bolts could well be setting into pre located nuts fixed to the cab to fix what would be the segregation panel if it were a van. I am not 100% on this though.
Good luck šŸ‘

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
unless you really have to remove it, leave well alone as it is a major structural member and will cause further leaks if you don't know exactly what you are doing. It is the structural join to the cab from the conversion bodywork

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
C

Cubs