LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Just wondering peoples thoughts on using a windscreen mounted DAB aerial.

I did ask before about a roof mount on an A class and realise they need a ground plane.
Thats doesn't seem to be the case with a screen mount so the question is do they work well?

Mobile phone screen mount aerials seem to work well.

TiA :)

RowleyBirkinQC

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 20, 2014
Dazed & Confused
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2007
We used a windscreen mounted DAB aerial in the previous C class van and continue to do so in the current A class wagon. They have worked well for us so far, but I have no experience with alternatively mounted DAB aerials to compare with.

Jan 31, 2016
Halifax
Funster No
MH
A Class Rapido 9097F
Exp
June 2016
been told very hard to have a good window mounted aerial in an a class need a roof mounted. also hard to earth. if you find one that works well let me know

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 27, 2014
Shropshire
Funster No
MH
McLouis Tandy 640+
Exp
Since 2014
I fitted an amplified roof mounted aerial on top of a big plate of stainless steel to act as a ground plane and it was hopeless!

Screen mount isn't good either I believe. I've now got a domestic DAB aerial - an Omni-directional one for obvious reasons (be careful - some for use on buildings are directional) - mounted inside the wardrobe, and that works OK.

It was the DAB dipole from this website that I fitted - useful website, and a very helpful guy that runs it:-

DAB reception can be a bit patchy anywhere though. My car has an exceptionally good factory-fitted DAB aerial and still the signal can drop in and out as I head up on the wilder bits of the M6 through the Lake District, for example, on some stations.

OP
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie