Croydon bus lane, can I use it? (1 Viewer)

Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
Yesterday, approaching Croydon, I noticed on the bus lane signs, it showed "goods vehicles 3.5t+" as my van is register as at 3.85t and classed as a private heavy goods vehicle, can I use it?
I suspect technically yes? But would probably get a ticket then have to appeal it?

OP
OP
Wh05apk
Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
Here is one of the signs:
upload_2017-7-17_8-21-56.png

Attachments

• upload_2017-7-17_8-21-14.png
    upload_2017-7-17_8-21-14.png
    981.7 KB · Views: 4
OP
OP
Wh05apk
Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
I'll probably never go there again, but was just interested, I suspect they intend it to be used for delivery vehicles, but presumably as we are registered as a "hgv" then we would technically qualify, although probably not their intention.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
I noticed a similar issue at Avon Heath Country Park near Ringwood on Saturday. We pulled in to the car park there for lunch and as the main car park has height barriers we parked in the smaller area which has a sign saying "no caravans" and that this area was for HGV and LGV only. We've parked here before and never had any hassle and didn't this time but it did go through my mind, if we were challenged, the copy of the V5 we carry which says we are Private Light Goods might come in handy. :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 27, 2009
Hertfordshire
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
40 years
Here is one of the signs:
View attachment 174514