Free Member
Apr 2, 2012
Streatham
Funster No
MH
bedford rascal nipper
Exp
I'm a newbie
The previous owner of my van saw fit to remove the locker which supported the lower third of the bed-Why????:cry: he was of normal height-the mind boggles. Rather than stretching my somewhat limited carpentry skills to building a locker, I opted to put on batons and place a board over the space. The batons went on nicely and I measured up for the board,went to homebase and explained to the fellow there that I needed something strong but as light as possible as my 970cc engine struggles with the load as it is. He suggested chipboard and I expect you can guess the outcome. I knelt on it with one knee to arrange the mattresses and went straight through.:Eeek: What would you clever folk out there suggest? Do you think MDF would be suitable? Oh and the mattresses were seriously inadequate. What is best for comfort and are there any good places to get them made that don't charge a king's ransom?

old-mo

Funster
Extra Special
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 16, 2008
Weymouth. Dorset...
Funster No
MH
Nearly aint got one.
Exp
Caravan & motorhome 45 + yrs
I think a desent thickness of "Plywood".. Half or better three quarter inch...

Bit of Marine Ply would be better as it is impregnated with some sort of waterproofing, which seems to make it stronger.. :thumb:

stcyr

Free Member
Apr 11, 2011
Normandie
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
On & off, since 1966 - fulltime since 2005
Ply would be stronger and lighter than mdf :Smile:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
having converted vans into campers several times, I would say use 9mm plywood. MDF and chipboard both absorb water from the atmosphere, and condensation in a motorhome will destroy its integrity quickly