Continenal Motorhome Recovery... (1 Viewer)

JJ

Mágica
May 1, 2008
Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
Funster No
MH
Burstner Privilege T
Exp
over 50 years
This post will be flirting with danger but...

I have been motorhoming all over Europe for over twenty years in many different vans and have never ever bought breakdown or recovery cover.

The inevitable happened in 1999 when the main bearings went on my Iveco 60-10 on the Salamanca ring road.

It cost me €450 to have it transported to my destination (Coimbra, Portugal) where I lived in it on and off for 6 months before it went off to the big parking space in the sky...

I calculate my costs to be approx €18 a year....

How much is an All Europe recovery policy (for older vans?)

JJ. :Smile:

bigmillie

Free Member
May 6, 2008
Camberley Surrey
Funster No
MH
Mercedes Classic C class
Exp
On/off since 1966
I think that we pay about £120 ish p.a. with Britannia for a 1986 Mercedes Cherokke

Regards Charlie

G4GMO

Free Member
Sep 6, 2007
Herefordshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2007
Recovery

Wonder what it would cost today? As ours has another 4 years before it's too old to insure I shan't worry yet but I do wonder how others deal with vehicles older than 20 years as some companies won't insure older than 20 years. While I have no wish to throw money at breakdown recovery other than insurance it's the issue of finding someone to come out and recover a vehicle without the recovery network that would concern me.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

bigmillie

Free Member
May 6, 2008
Camberley Surrey
Funster No
MH
Mercedes Classic C class
Exp
On/off since 1966
Hi jon

I think also that hidden in the small print of most insurance co's is a disclaimer that repatration costs will not exceed the market value of the vehicle :Sad:

Be interested if any one else has any views on this

73's Charlie (Lapsed G8BEJ) :thumb:

brodie

Free Member
Mar 12, 2010
South Yorkshire
Funster No
MH