Computer Help Google As My Home Page?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by colyboy, May 6, 2015.

  1. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Ratings:
    +935
    Can't seem to reinstate Google as my home page I seem to have AVG which I don't want.
    HELP PLEASE
    colyboy
     
  2. arao99

    arao99 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    west midlands
    Ratings:
    +21
    which internet browser are you using ?
     
  3. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,296
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3,918
    You've possibly installed AVG toolbar when doing an update?
    You can remove the in Control Panel.
    How to change your home page depends on which browser.
     
  4. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Ratings:
    +935
    Browser I think you mean Explorer!

    colyboy
     
  5. arao99

    arao99 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    west midlands
    Ratings:
    +21
  6. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Ratings:
    +391
    Hi

    If you have not got File Edit View etc at the top of your screen when in your browser put your cursur at the very top of the screen in the middle and Right Click. Select Menu Bar and Left Click. They should now appear .

    Now using the Goodle search option find the exact Web Page you want to appear when the Browser opens ie Yahoo or TalkTalk or ????

    Now Click on Tools at the top Left {Next to Help}

    Left Click on Options

    Left Click on Current Page which is in the middle of the Box that opens


    That sets the page you have open as the one that will start when you open Internet Expolrer.

    Doug
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  7. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,766
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +4,110
    Or a quicker way, hold down [alt] + x, in the menu that appears, select internet options, then click use current button! :D

    AVG is sneaky, when the things pop up, there is a big accept button on the right, but on the left, there is a very small decline button, always use that ;-)
     
  8. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    Ratings:
    +1,468
    Whatever browser you use go to Tools-Internet options-and reset your home page.
    Of course , That's after going into Control Panel and removing AVG (y)
     
  9. Yorick

    Yorick Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,363
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +8,711
    AVG is a very good AV product. If you remove it, be sure to replace it :)
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  10. Jazzbow

    Jazzbow Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +73
    you dont need to remove AVG to reset your home page
     
  11. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7,957
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +27,656
    HATE AVG with a vengeance !!!
    Kept making my Dell laptop crash until it was removed and replaced with Microsoft Security Essentials
     
  12. Yorick

    Yorick Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,363
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +8,711
    MSE is rubbish.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7,957
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +27,656
    Works just fine for us, and has done for years. (no more crashes)
    We've yet to find a better solution for our business...unless you know different and recommend a better solution?
     
  14. Yorick

    Yorick Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,363
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +8,711
    When you say it works fine what do you mean ?

    It doesn't catch viruses ? Of course not. It's Microsoft :D


    I worked in the business for 8 years. Best free ones are AVG & Avast. I used to test them all against a million viruses.
     
  15. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7,957
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +27,656
    Thanks for that
    Will look at Avast as I wouldn't risk AVG again after it crashed my laptop
     
  16. steevie

    steevie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Location:
    Holmfirth
    Ratings:
    +271
    It has been proved on many occasions that AVG for free is just about the best in the business, and I used it for years, but my current computer with windows 7 came with Microsoft essentials, and over the past three or four years it has been great, and not let any virus get through, and no crashes, and it's on 24/7.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  17. Yorick

    Yorick Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,363
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +8,711
    How do you know ?
     
  18. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    Ratings:
    +10,782
    Malwarebytes tells me :D!
    I know nothing is definitive but...

    [I managed to leave my front door unlocked yesterday when I went out :whistle: but as nothing appears to be missing, I'm fairly confident I wasn't burgled!]

    MSE [currently] strikes the right balance between security, usability & hassle.
    A bit like bike security, if they want it, they'll get it. All you can do is dissuade them & encourage them to look elsewhere.
     
Loading...

Share This Page