Compass Avantgarde electrics panel (1 Viewer)

Mar 23, 2017
Chudleigh, Devon
Funster No
MH
Compass Avantgarde 2
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi, My vehicle battery is going flat in under a week (when not being driven), done it a couple of times now and it's either a knackered old battery (don't know age), a dodgy radio which doesn't turn off properly (possible culprit) or some other shortage/usage i don't know about.

But what has surprised me is that on the vehicle panel (photo attached)when the switch is in the VEH or AUX position the battery voltage reads the same about 12v.

So, i'm wondering if i'm misunderstanding what the panel/switch is for? Is it to show the voltage of each battery?

Thanks

Attachments

• 20170804_153302.jpg
    20170804_153302.jpg
    128.7 KB · Views: 80

MC 55 FUN

Free Member
Feb 18, 2016
Rural South West Wales.
Funster No
MH
2015 Majestic 195
Exp
Since 20th Feb' 2016
In the AUX position the habitation power is provided by your leisure battery, in the VEH position the habitation power is provided by your starting battery,( not recommended for longer term use unless the engine is running ), when on e.h.u. & in the AUX position the gauge should read circa 13v+.

The vehicle battery should read circa 12.7v in charged resting state.

Last edited:
Feb 14, 2009
Chandlers Ford, Hampshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner TD700 H L
Exp
Since 2008
Do you have a battery switch near the step ...I had an Elddis 120...this would switch of 12 volt power

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Brendan Stone
Mar 23, 2017
Chudleigh, Devon
Funster No
MH
Compass Avantgarde 2
Exp
Im a newbie
Thanks MH55, that's a bit of a surprise! With 'car' batteries being built for high output over short periods, and leisure batteries low and slow, I guess leaving it on VEH when wild camping can be a bit dangerous!