Community speedwatch (1 Viewer)

Feb 22, 2008
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Nearly Tugging
Exp
Since 2004
Can a prosecution for speeding result from volunteers operating a radar speed gun.

Langtoftlad

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 12, 2011
Langtoft, South Lincs
Funster No
MH
WildAx Aurora FB [PVC]
Exp
Since 2015
AFAIK Not directly.
However if the volunteers witnessed something more serious, then they can 'report' it, and the police can take further action.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Misuse of equipment would be my first line of defence :) so i would say no.

The volunteers have no more authority than you or I and come to it a PCSO.
Any member of the public can report an incident what ever it may be.

Mikey RV

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 7, 2010
Devon
Funster No
MH
Burstner Elegance I821G
Exp
Since 1977
They have done this down our way with school kids as a exercise and all they do is stop the motorist and give them a slapped wrist in front of the kids.

Vlad The Impaler

Free Member
Apr 22, 2012
Rutland
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2012 but longer in my dreams
You get a letter from mr plod stating that you were clocked at whatever speed at said location and that you are reminded of the speed Limit ,no points or fine .
Apparently said letters can be sent from various locations as the wannabe enforcers keep moving ,,so I'm led to believe . :whistle2:

Vlad

Badknee

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 25, 2014
notloB
Funster No
MH
Vantage Neo
Exp
Living the dream.
On tv they were stopped from doing this in their village as plod said they were fed up sending letters out as they were too vigilant :confused:

Mar 21, 2010
Funster No
Our village do this often, it only leads to fine etc if you are caught again. I understand you are
sent a letter from the police and sometimes they call on you to have chat!

The answer is reduce your SPEED!!!!!.

colyboy

Aug 27, 2009
Hertfordshire
Funster No
MH