Cobra Alarm

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Petros, Mar 8, 2014.

  1. Petros

    Petros Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Stoney Stanton
    Ratings:
    +24
    Just got a replacement alarm remote to replace one that stopped working. Having difficulty programming it to the alarm system on the van. I have acquired the procedure from Cobra but it still does not want to connect. The instructions state to have the bonnet and the driver's door open (which I have done) but I was wondering if I need to also open the habition door as it is also on the system. It is Cobra 3 series alarm (A3198) Has any one experienced similar problems? Cobra have said that the earth connection of the bonnet switch needs to be perfect, I have removed this and cleaned everything up.:Doh::cry:
     
  2. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,554
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Ratings:
    +4,385
    [HI]No disrespect intended[/HI], but why on earth would anyone give the method on how to do this on a forum. Anyone can read it, then buy a remote and find some poor soul to steal the MH from and then reprogram a remote and sell it on.

    PLEASE contact a Cobra Alarm fitter and take your ( if needs be )motorhome to them and have it done professionally. Perhaps asking for some to PM you the details would be a better idea.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Wyaye wires

    Wyaye wires

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +9,341
    I'm alarmed that we need to be alarmed against cobras, I thought being gassed was bad enough but snakes too!!! :Eeek:
     
  4. Petros

    Petros Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Stoney Stanton
    Ratings:
    +24
    Methods of setting remotes of alarm systems appear quite readily on the internet but you still need a "pin number" to access the system, so it is quite safe to forward programming methods. I was really wanted to know if anybody had experienced similar issues. Is this not the point of a forum?:Cool:
     
  5. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,554
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Ratings:
    +4,385
    As your post states "Methods of setting remotes of alarm systems appear quite readily on the internet" so please go and find it there.

    The point of the forum is indeed to help each other, however to give out details of that nature is just plain silly.
    Just my two pennies worth - I'm sure the rest of the members on here will make their own mind up on the matter and I'm sure common sense will triumph...........
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,595
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +22,104
    I agree with Petros.....without the alarm specific security code nothing would be gained by knowing the coding method.
     
  7. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,554
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Ratings:
    +4,385
    Good stuff, but as a say: if he states he can find these things on the internet, why come here and ask! ....... as I have also stated I'm sure common sense will triumph........... and I'm not disrespecting the OP
     
  8. Petros

    Petros Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Stoney Stanton
    Ratings:
    +24
    The point being that i got a method from Cobra but was asking wether or not the habitation door needed to also be open. I will obviously contact Cobra tomorrow when they are back in work. I was asking the question in the interim period over their weekend shut down:thumb:
     
  9. easygirl

    easygirl Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +157
    Why not try it with the hab door open and see waht happens, i wouldent think it could do any harm:Smile:
     
  10. Dai Motorhome

    Dai Motorhome Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Burnham on Sea, Somerset
    Ratings:
    +19
    Don't see any problem with Petros asking on the forum!! Seems reasonable to me.
     
  11. Jim et Lou

    Jim et Lou Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +160
    I had the same problem and the reason was the bonnet was not wired into the alarm system. you have to take the Blue wire at the siren and put it to earth. I have not tried this yet as on my van all the alarm wires are well hidden away.
     
  12. Jim et Lou

    Jim et Lou Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +160
    For Gods sake give people a break. Every time someone needs help on here there are always smart a***S want to belittle them for some reason or other.
    Why don't you just sod off and go and chase windmills!!!!!!
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  13. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,410
    Aye... I mean, what's the very worst that could happen :winky:

    [​IMG]
     
Loading...

Share This Page