Chipping MH to get more power (1 Viewer)

Jun 17, 2017
Thorpe Willoughby - Selby
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Since 2015
I have a large MH and would like to add a towbar, motorcycle trailer and quite a large 400cc scooter which will be approx. 250kg in weight. My Fiat Ducato MH has a 130 BHP engine and has a total weight of 4005kg fully loaded and was wondering by adding say a further 350kg it will become so underpowered.
Therefore I would like to purchase a performance chip to raise the BHP to say 160.
My main concern is will it have a detrimental effect to the longevity of the engine as over the next few years I would like to travel extensively throughout Europe, now both my wife and I are fully retired ( all be it, awaiting for our elderly cat's demise). As an ex engineer I have my concerns
Can a 130 engine take 160BHP?
Increase in wear and tear - clutch - big ends - small ends etc
Gearbox
All the chip suppliers claims increased fuel consumption - is this the case?
MY MH is currently out of warranty 2010 and 19000 miles on the clock.
Any help will be really appreciated

Apr 28, 2013
Alentejo,Portugal
Funster No
MH
Hymer A Class
Exp
Since the '80,s
Hi,my 2015 Transit based camper has a 155 bhp engine,I tow a 750kg gross three bike trailer,just back from the IOM with two on weighing about350kgs.
I find by stirring the gearbox it is fine with the trailer on hills as the engine has loads of torque,if I let the revs drop even a little it does talker some time to get up to speed again.
I also have a little Skoda 75bhp diesel and two tuners insist it can be chipped to 130 bhp without any detrimental effects.
Haven't done it yet but think the technology has improved enormously.
Had a Nissan Primera chipped that went like stink so feel why not give it a try,not too much to lose and can always remove and if you sell go back to standard.
Good luck with your decision,let us know how you get on.

OP
OP
Welshyorkie
Jun 17, 2017
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Since 2015