Chinese double din media unit

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Diabalo, Apr 28, 2016.

  1. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,066
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Rochester
    Just bought one of these HERE

    It has built in DVB-t but the supplied Aerial is a tiddly little jobbie the sort of thing you get on a WiFi router and I think the socket is SMA. The question is if I get a SMA to F type adapter to connect the current roof aerial will it be a problem?
     
  2. berni109

    berni109 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    314
    Location:
    worcester
    so will u be able to understand the chinese tv programs? (someone had to ask)
    when u say the current roof aerial do u mean the one in the back of the current radio or the tv aerial assuming u have one. Former might be OK for radio but unlikely to be giving u good tv reception. Later is worth a try.
    i get a surprisingly good picture on my computer using a usb dongle receiver with a very similar aerial to the one shown.
    someone will be along who can help you out with a technical explanation.
     
  3. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,066
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Rochester
    Hi Berni,

    I want to use the status TV aerial on the roof, the little supplied one may work but I have my doubts.
     
  4. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,549
    Likes Received:
    3,307
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    No [problem using the adapter you suggest.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,912
    Likes Received:
    7,618
    Location:
    On the coast in West Sussex
    I have a free view dongle no reception from the aerial that came with it, I made an adaptor and it works fine on the house aerial.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. magicsurfbus

    magicsurfbus Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,156
    Likes Received:
    9,503
    Location:
    NW England
    Blimey - does it do hot chocolate as well as tea and coffee?

    I wouldn't get over optimistic about what the Status aerial will deliver signal-wise, but no harm trying. It ought to be better than a wi-fi, although it's possible to extend a wi-fi aerial with a cable if it's the detachable type. I did that to boost reception on upstairs computers in our house.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,066
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Rochester
    Needn't to have worried, been away the weekend before the adapter arrived so I thought I would try the tiddly aerial that came with it, hung it over the wing mirror set the unit to search and bingo it picked up all the freeview channels no problem at all, it just goes to show.
     
  8. berni109

    berni109 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    314
    Location:
    worcester
    Well there you go.
    But don't expect the same reception everywhere.
    My reception is good in a lot of areas but c**p in a few
     
  9. John Hindmarsh

    John Hindmarsh Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sussex
    Hi Diabalo, just wondering if your xtrons head unit was still going strong as I'm thinking of changing the 12ELE2000 one in my Autotrail Tracker for one of the new Xtrons
    HTML:
    <a href="http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/XTRONS-TD696ADS-Quad-Core-Android-5-1-Car-Stereo-Radio-DVD-GPS-Digital-DVB-T-TV-/181983024858?hash=item2a5f0896da:g:y~YAAOSw-itXrX0r">TD696ADS</a>
    ones but have heard mixed opinions about the Chinese head units!
     
  10. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,066
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Rochester
    Hi John,

    Well pleased with it and no problems at all so far, just a little niggle is that you can't or I haven't found out how to turn the head unit screen off while watching the monitor, I just cover it over with a magazine.
     
  11. John Hindmarsh

    John Hindmarsh Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sussex
    Hi Dane, thanks for the feedback. I hadn't realised that the head unit screen could be turned off when watching TV on the monitor on the standard fit unit until I saw a post about it today so have been doing the same as you!

    I haven't pulled the existing unit out yet to have a look at the wiring but hoping that the ISO leads supplied with the Xtrons one will plug straight in to the existing leads. Was yours a straightforward swap? (other than the TV aerial needing an adapter)
     
  12. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,127
    Likes Received:
    27,248
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    That you were in a very good signal strength area.
     
  13. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,928
    Likes Received:
    6,205
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Slightly more dosh but good feedback and has its own forums with quick reply's from the maker
    Google
    Pumkin / Android / Amazon circa £280 ish
    with Android you can swap and add apps and to suite you
    Beauty is with Amazon you can fire it straight back if you dont like it
    Here @ £249 may have to add TV dongle not read through it
    But take a look at Pumpkin worth a look for sure
     
  14. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,066
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Rochester
    John,

    The wiring was straight forward, I think I had to earth 1 wire down to the case to make sure the rear view camera worked while the engine was running. I had to buy an adapter for the TV aerial just a couple of quid of E-bay and a different surround bezel.
     
  15. John Hindmarsh

    John Hindmarsh Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sussex
    Thanks for the info both. I'll have a look at the Pumpkin ones. Might pull the unit out at the weekend to check what the tangle of wiring looks like! Will probably have a few more questions when I take the plunge
     
  16. kaasbroodje

    kaasbroodje Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    978
    Location:
    Bristol
    I've had a very similar Pumpkin unit for the last 18months, can't fault it tbh.
    Stereo amplifier isn't as good as the Alpine it replaced, wiring loom is huge, which means it takes a while to fit.
    Internal memory is only 8gb, so you need a micro sd card for storing apps, maps and so on.
    The installed truck navigation is great (Igo primo), Camper Contact works fine, as does Spotify, it's just like using a quality tablet.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
Loading...

Share This Page