Cheap IBC Vs Heos water filler (1 Viewer)

Nov 26, 2021
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sky Ti
Exp
Newbie seeking advice
Hello folks. I'm new to MoHo Fun and Moho full stop.
I've picked up a couple of tips from these threads so I thought I'd share some of my ideas to save a few £.
We have a Knaus with dedicated services compartment accessible from outside on the nearside of the van.
The first couple of times filling the water tank, I thought what an almighty p.i.a standing like a lemon holding the filling hose. So then I read about Heos filling adapter but couldn't make it work on our water filler due to the threaded lid.
Then I found an IBC threaded cap on Amazon for about £8 - it works result!!
My observation is that this will work for course threaded water filler caps and I think other continental vans might use these as well as Knaus.
Whilst I don't need to hold the hose, there's no "auto shut-off" so I still have to keep an eye on water levels or else the overflow will dump the the water.
Because the IBC filler cap is not sealable it has to be removed, because it sits on a vertical plane I cannot fill above the bottom of the filler neck, so my fresh water cannot be filled above about 90%, maybe I doing something wrong?
I'm adding some pictures, hopefully this might help others, the blue cap is the original and black is the IBC from Amazon with hose lock adapter (I added PTFE when I screwed the hose lock piece into the cap).

John

Attachments

• IMG_20211220_160512.jpg
    IMG_20211220_160512.jpg
    346.3 KB · Views: 63
  • IMG_20211209_133711.jpg
    IMG_20211209_133711.jpg
    206.5 KB · Views: 64
  • Screenshot_20211228-105523~2.jpg
    Screenshot_20211228-105523~2.jpg
    130.2 KB · Views: 61

Wombles

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 28, 2013
SW England
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
A few years now