Chausson 716 electric bunk beds - thumbs up? (1 Viewer)

The Lobster

Free Member
Aug 13, 2011
Borders of Scotland
Funster No
MH
Bürstner A576
Exp
Still getting started
Just spotted the 2018 Chausson 716 with electric bunk beds at the back and an electric double at the front. Looks really interesting (we have a Burstner with traditional fixed bunk/double). The beds seem to be supported simply by some straps at each end.

How reliable is this arrangement? Does it wobble/stick much - is it proving reliable? Any drawbacks? I'd welcome your feedback. Thanks.

PS - I have no experience of diesel powered heating either - so if you have feedback (good or bad) on that I'd like to hear it as well. If it was as great as Chausson claim, why does virtually everyone else still stick with gas?

Jul 25, 2017
Rugby
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 185
Exp
Since2012
On ours we have electric double in centre of van that can be set at two heights. Higher level needs steps to get up, grandkids love it and still allow the seats to convert to double below, or just take to lower level but eliminates lower bed. No issues whatsoever with it
Ref heating its superb, but it will cut out F the fuel level in tank is below half full, never been an issue to us. I like that the gas is only used for water (and fridge if you want) lasts a lot longer

Oct 25, 2014
N.E . Scotland
Funster No
MH
Chausson 717 GA
Exp
Since 2015
The drop down bed in ours has been great (so far) they have straps but are also attached to the wall in runners to stop it swaying