Aug 22, 2020
Oxfordshire, UK
Funster No
MH
American RV,
Exp
Since 2018
Hi all, can anyone help me.
I have a 2005 Fiat Ducato, Swift Sundance 590RS motorhome, I have now experienced a lighting fault with the chassis electrics, as it will be going for MOT soon I decided to check all the lights, if I switch on all the lights, side/tail, hazards, rear fog, reverse & brake lights the problem occurs, the lights go dim/bright & alternate, as a retired motor engineer I thought "easy" bad earth lol, not so easy as I ran a separate cable from the battery earth to the rear light cluster & this did not help, next I checked the voltage at the rear lights, on tail lights I only get 9.2volts, indicator voltage is slightly less, so I thought it will be corrosion in the Fiat/Swift junction causing high resistance, found the rear light wiring loom & it disappears into the chassis box section, however I can't find out where it comes out of the chassis to connect to the Fiat chassis wiring (if it does) , if I can find out where the Swift wiring connects to the Fiat wiring I can test it and if need be run a new 5 core cable to the rear left & right lights, can any one offer any help or assistance please

Dec 13, 2019
Northumberland
Funster No
MH
Hymer A Class
Exp
Since 2019
Welcome šŸ‘ Sounds like a Job for a pro. You could be on forever trying to track it down. Good luck.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Popty

Popty

Free Member
Aug 22, 2020
Oxfordshire, UK
Funster No
MH
American RV,
Exp
Since 2018
Just need to find the Fiat/Swift chassis wiring interface is, then the rest is easy, new 5 core cable & rewire the rear lights

ambulancekidd

Funster
Sep 23, 2014
Ayrshire Scotland
Funster No
MH
Swift Kon-Tiki 640
Exp
Since 1964 Gosh that makes me feel old.
:hi2: :WelcomeFlag:I think I'd go for the option of running new cable, the old cables sound a bit dodgy & I know I'd rather be safe than sorry.
Good luck & please can you keep us posted with how you get on?

TheBig1