Free Member
Sep 26, 2018
new forest
Funster No
MH
Sold it!
Exp
I'm a newbie
I've just been looking through the book of words on my 2007 Elnagh and it appears both the starter and leisure battery are charged via the EHU, just wondered if this is the norm because I'm not 100% convinced. I suppose someone with more knowledge than me could test it but I thought if any one would know its you guys,

Dec 12, 2010
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
since 2011
Most decent vans charge both batteries when on hook up, but with some you might have to manually select which battery you want to charge, usually by a toggle switch labled "cab or aux".

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

two

Aug 4, 2011
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
A-Class Fiat
Under normal circumstances, you shouldn't need to charge your starter battery. A problem may arise if you leave the van unused over winter with security devices draining them, though.
Chargers, nowadays, are supposed to be 'smart' and charge according to a special regime appropriate to the battery they are managing. Since the battery technology for starter and habitation batteries is usually different (as well as their capacity and state of charge at any time) any charge offered to a second battery can only be a token offering. In most cases, that's all that's needed, so no matter.
The best way to charge the vehicle/starter battery is to use an independent charger.

Upvote 0
Feb 9, 2008
Corby, Northants
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
Since 2007
After reading the above posts I decided to look at what is actually stated in the manual and have formed the view It's self explanatory.