Oct 12, 2009
North Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
8 years ish
Hi folks,
Is running the vehicle engine to keep the engine slack whilst connected to EHU bad for the batteries / charging system?
Advice appreciated
Cheers
John

OP
OP
johnp10

johnp10

Free Member
Oct 12, 2009
North Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
8 years ish
Thanks, Pappajohn.
I did it today for a short while, then switched off the engine thinking it may not be a good idea.
Seem to have got away without blowing anything, everything appears to be as it should, all working ok.
Pleased I asked for future reference.
The link explains a lot.
Cheers
John

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

M&L

Free Member
Jan 26, 2008
North Lincolnshire
Funster No
Exp
I've done it quite a few times over the years especially if parked up for a week or so at a time including a couple of times in the last month. I'm not an expert but it does not appear to have had any effect on my present van or previous ones.

Mike

OP
OP
johnp10

johnp10

Free Member
Oct 12, 2009
North Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
8 years ish
Thanks Mike.
Its maybe a set up thing, or just down to luck?
I didn't blow anything either, but.....
It seems in principle not to be too good an idea?

John

Phil

Free Member
Oct 21, 2007
Herts
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
10 years
It may depend on if you have the charger on or not and if you have a split charge system. So sooner than take a risk I always switch off or disconnect EHU before starting the engine.

Phil.

onion

Free Member
Nov 12, 2009
scotland
Funster No
Exp
swift royale

It may depend on if you have the charger on or not and if you have a split charge system. So sooner than take a risk I always switch off or disconnect EHU before starting the engine.

Phil.
Hi phil was wondering if yr royale was same as mine, its a 1994 vw t4, was looking for a number of the 5pin charging rly thanks onion.

Douglas

Free Member
Aug 22, 2008
South Wales,
Funster No
Exp