Changing to Private HGV - DVLA and the V5C (1 Viewer)

RFS

Free Member
Apr 30, 2013
Yarm
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Just on my second van but still I'm a newbie
i have recently gone through the the exercise to uplift my weight from 3500Kg to 4200Kg.

All the supporting paperwork (including a new VIN sticker) obtained very quickly from the JR Consultancy and sent with original V5C to DVLA during April.

I received a generic confirmation letter last week from DVLA to inform me changes had been made and a refund of excise duty (where appropriate) wold be made n due course and my new V5C would follow separately.

New V5C arrived this morning. Revenue weight now 4200kg, however, on V5C the following weights remain as per the original V5C:

F.1 Max. Permissible Mass (exc. m/c) 3500
G Mass in service 3500

When I saw this alarm bells sounded as my new plate clearly shows the new axle weights of 1850kg and 2350kg respectively and a GVM of 4200kg with a GTM of 6000kg.

Having done a quick search online, it appears there were similar issues a few years ago and the V5C had to go back, again, to DVLA.

I have called the, this afternoon and the person I spoke to didn't really seem to understand my point and she then put me on hold whilst speaking with a supervisor. This didn't appear to resolve anything and I've been instructed to return the V5C with a covering letter.

Has anyone else had a similar problem recently? I'm also a little worried as I now have a new VIN plate (alongside the original) and don't want any problems if pulled by either VOSA or the police.

Clearly until resolved I will have to make sure I am under the 3500 as recorded by DVLA and hope I don't get prosecuted for displaying a 'false' VIN plate.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Rob

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging