LPB

Aug 19, 2015
Crawley
Funster No
MH
Hymer B584
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have a Hymer B584 with EBL99 and LR1218 solar connector.
Currently have 2 x 110AH leisure batteries and the engine battery which I think is a 90AH so a total of 310AH. After reading this morning that the EBL99 should only be charging a max of 180AH, my current 2 leisure batteries are old, I am planning to replace with 1 LDF90 Varta and keep within the 180AH limit on the EBL99.

I have 2 questions that I hope someone can help with:-

1. Am I correct in saying that if I pull the solar fuse on the EBL99 I can then safely disconnect the leisure batteries? Picture attached.

2. I dont know what power my 2 solar panels are giving out - a picture of them is attached in case anyone can recognise what they are?

Thanks in advance ,
Lloyd.

Electroblock.jpg Solar panels.jpg

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997
As a point of trivia I'm reliably informed that Varta Professional batteries are made in the same factory as Bosch Silver, and it's only the label that distinguishes them.

I replaced my factory fit (NCC grade C) Yuasa 90 Ah battery with a (NCC grade B) Varta LFD140 (Ah). Our panel is 100w and it's been running perfectly on a long trip round France with a lot of time spent on aires. I think you're making a good choice of manufacturer.

SandraL

Free Member
Jan 24, 2012
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Hymer b694sl
Exp
Since 2012 + Caravanner for 20+ years
The solar controller will probably like the panel to be disconnected first and then to be disconnected from the battery.
So i would disconnect panel from regulator and not bother with fuse on the ebl.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990