Change to Highway Code and cyclists responsibilities (1 Viewer)

Dec 2, 2019
South Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Rapido 7065+
Exp
Broken most bits now
I wonder how cyclists will find out that they are now responsible for pedestrians safety?

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
There’s an alternative discussion: “In The News Broken Link Removed

POH

May 29, 2018
Funster No
MH
Pilote 740c
Exp
5 years
Unbelievable , it will cause absolute chaos , it's bad enough now as most of them disregard the highway code , just been up in the dales and there was loads of cyclists on narrow ish roads riding two a breast and they wouldn't move which made me go further to the right than I thought was safe to overtake them otherwise I would have been behind them for about 5 miles imo this new rule should not see the light of day.

Sep 17, 2017
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
A-Class
Exp
Unbelievable , it will cause absolute chaos , it's bad enough now as most of them disregard the highway code , just been up in the dales and there was loads of cyclists on narrow ish roads riding two a breast and they wouldn't move which made me go further to the right than I thought was safe to overtake them otherwise I would have been behind them for about 5 miles imo this new rule should not see the light of day.
If they'd been in a single file, they would have taken up twice the length, so you'd not be able to overtake them then either.

Or are you proposing overtaking them on a narrow lane without crossing the centreline in a wide vehicle?

glenn2926

Free Member
Sep 11, 2012
Gods country
Funster No
MH
Chausson
Exp
newbie hired 3
If they'd been in a single file, they would have taken up twice the length, so you'd not be able to overtake them then either.

Or are you proposing overtaking them on a narrow lane without crossing the centreline in a wide vehicle?