Cello traveller keeps turning itself on. (1 Viewer)

Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
Since connecting a humax freesat recorder by HDMI cable our tv keeps turning itself on, my only thought is that the humax is in standby mode which somehow is sending a signal via HDMI?

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
I have an Icecrypt sat box connected to my 22" Traveller not noticed any problems but but I have fitted a master switch which turns the TV, sat box, and sat off when I'm not using them.
If it is the Humax I would expect it to only do it when you turn the Humax on shouldn't happen in standby.
Sorry not very helpful.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 16, 2014
Worcestershire
Funster No
MH
Auto-Trail GF70
Exp
since 1993
Most HDMI devices can switch on the screen is they are active. For example if you've a sky box connected to a screen both on standby, turning on the sky box will make the screen turn on too. This is usually on one of the HDMI sockets and has this communication built in. Sounds like in your setup the humax is producing a signal to the TV - are you sure its off? I'd check the settings in the Humax and make sure its going into standby.
HDMI has many parts to its signal such as copy protection, various audio parts, control and finds out whats connected before allowing any image or audio to be shown. Can often by a right pain but the connection itself is such a weak link and subject to getting damaged.

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
For that to happen the TV must be on standby rather than off. Does the TV not have a (physical) off switch?

Langtoftlad

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 12, 2011
Langtoft, South Lincs
Funster No
MH
WildAx Aurora FB [PVC]
Exp
Since 2015