CB Communication (1 Viewer)

Jan 13, 2014
Leeds - Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
40+
We are going on a Road Trip with a couple of other MH's and it occurred to me using a CB Radio
might be an amusing way of keeping in touch whilst on the move,has anyone tried it and was it successful?

SuperMike

Free Member
Apr 28, 2010
St Albans
Funster No
MH
Winnebago Sightseer
Exp
11yrs, but many years a tugger.
Neither will CB methinks. Stick any sort of obstruction in the way and the range crashes. I know in there heyday, people claimed amazing vehicle to vehicle copy, but there was a lot of fantasy in there. PMR446 will work well in close formation, with its 500mw, and are very cheap, even the simplest of unit will suffice. All be it SuperMike's are SuperComplicated units that he has fiddled with. :mask:

BMM

Free Member
May 26, 2017
Essex
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a Newbie
We have one of these in our RV and it works surprisingly well, good cheap option and very small.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DanielFord

Free Member
Jun 1, 2013
Funster No
We have a CB installed in ours, and use a mobile unit for "base" to "mobile" comms. Works surprisingly well, mind you we have a ridiculous aerial on the van :D

I'm sure @Jaws can offer more insight

Aug 11, 2016
ipswich
Funster No
MH
Not sure
Exp
1 year
In my experience with HGV's the range would be limited to 2-3 miles. This will vary with terrain and weather conditions.

DanielFord

Free Member
Jun 1, 2013
Funster No
As an update, I dug out a couple of photos, first this is the dash arrangement (I know it is dusty in this pic):
dash gadgets.JPG

And on the out side, this is where I put the aerial:
aerial.JPG

SuperMike

Free Member
Apr 28, 2010
St Albans
Funster No
MH
Winnebago Sightseer
Exp
11yrs, but many years a tugger.