Cash or card (1 Viewer)

Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Jun 27, 2023
Castleford, UK
Funster No
MH
Rollerteam 707
What’s everybody’s preference when travelling in Europe cash or card?
We’re heading over the water shortly and don’t know if we should take some euros or just rely on card (contactless?

Apr 3, 2019
UK
Funster No
MH
Burstner Travel Van
Exp
Few years now
We use the Currensea card wherever possible.
Some places only take cash though so worth having Euros as well.

Nov 9, 2019
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Season 6 Episode 3 GIF by Parks and Recreation

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 26, 2018
Funster No
Just back after six weeks in France.

Mostly, places will take card but there are many smaller shops (boulangeries etc) where they have a minimum spend for cards, usually €10. In smaller towns some cafes/restaurants only took cash.

We had two campsites where they said cash payment only.

Most of the fuel stations are automated but we did have a few where we had issues with credit cards being recognised. That’s easy. No fuel. Go somewhere else. Harder is where you fill up and then go into pay and the cards won’t work, so just in case cash is always handy to have!

OP
OP
Russ N Tracey
Jun 27, 2023
Castleford, UK
Funster No
MH
Rollerteam 707
thanks everybody. we're there for 3 weeks and judging from the response I think it'll be mainly card but take a little cash for back up.
I was only asking as we seem to be moving away from cash over here, only cash I spend is having my hair cut.

Nov 22, 2018
South East but not London
Funster No
MH
Rimor Europeo 87
Exp
Five years plus three tugging
Both. We take cash, but also our Starling cards and Halifax Clarity. Plus we take our UK cards just in case, because those bloody Peage machines and the fuel machines are so fickle.

Jan 1, 2014
France
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs T7010
Exp
Since 1974